External DVD Burner for Mac

hark

Administrator
Staff member
Super Mod
I am looking for suggestions for a DVD burner that is compatible with Mac. I've had this one by LG that is great with Windows. But even though it states it's compatible with Mac, it isn't. I'd like to keep the cost to $50 or less.

There is an Apple USB SuperDrive that is $79, but I really can't justify the cost for something I will rarely use. Any ideas?

Fred Kingston_RIP

I have the Apple USB Superdrive... As well as an Asus SDRW-D8D1S-U... They both work fine on my Mac... although, very, very slow... DM me your particulars, and I'll send you one...and if you like it... you can send me whatever you think it's worth...

BF Hammer

Interesting. If you follow the product link and search the reviews for "mac" there are multiple reviews that say it works, with only 1 that says otherwise.

I have been using the same Memorex DVD-burner for about 14 years. I don't have any experience with something current that way.

hark

Administrator
Staff member
Super Mod
The thing is I tried contacting LG through their website (no email available). When I try to submit my questions, instead of accepting the info I entered, it simply takes me back to this page. The problem is I don't know whether any of the software is for Mac, and I cannot find the installation disc that came with it.

I'd still like to try and get this to work. However, the 1-star reviews on B&H (where I purchased it) aren't very impressive.

I pulled out my Windows 7 laptop to at least burn the necessary files to a disc.

@Fred Kingston, thank you for the offer. Let me try to get this resolved if possible. I also have a LightScribe burner but not sure if there are any compatible drivers for it either. Both of my burners are at least 5 years old.

hark

Administrator
Staff member
Super Mod